Skip to content

All hail the golden age of Who

July 21, 2009

who11Don’t care what the whingers say I chuffing love the new Doc’s look – “A NEW SUIT AND A HAIR CUT!” I think it makes him look quirky (as the doc should, and always has done – with the exceptions of Ecclestone and Tennant). In fact looking at him alongside the others just confirms him in my mind as a solid Doc. He looks like an alien reckons a doctor should look, and that’s what I was always lead to believe the Doctor was doing when dressing as a ‘human’ right? Smith is perfect. I don’t care that he’s the youngest, or that he looks like a potato. More the better as far as I’m concerned.

More photos here.

I’m just glad they’re totally going the other way to Skins. Imagine if he HAD been all skinny-jeaned, trilby-hatted and skinny of tie? No, this is a far better course. And check out the new Amy Pond (if that is indeed her real name) and her awesome Cons! I’ve spotted her in two versions – deep, dark red (just like Doc 10) and blue ones.

So, what WAS Alex Kingston doing on set on the first day? Are we to finally see the sweet history of the Doc and River as so beautifully described in Silence in the Library – scroll to 3.25? Is Amy, River?

Woargh! I can’t wait for the Age of Moffat! It’s going to be awesome!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve. permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:14 pm

    I totally agree.

    The Doctor was always meant to be an ALIEN! Tenant’s Doc was suddenly pitched as the “media-literate” Doctor, able to throw up “Lion King” quotes out of thin air and share Christmas dinner with the stupid apes. Not to put Tenant down, but I always loved how the Doctor just couldn’t reconcile the divide between liking humans and being human.

    Also, Moffat will make this rock. He’s a fan of the history of the show, so he will be just as bold and brave with it as Davies was, but in a different way.

    No damned Voodoo Child musical interludes! Yaaay!

  2. July 22, 2009 7:42 am

    So much excitement over a children’s programme. Personally, I hope they don’t mess around with the format of In the Night Garden too much, that would be unbearable.

  3. Steve. permalink
    July 24, 2009 10:37 am

    I see River’s presence as a good sign, because it means that his PRIMARY companion, Ms. Pond is a platonic friend and we won’t get another tired “Rose” storyline (Yes, it was thrilling but it’s been done now).

    Also in the “Library” two-parter it was suggested that The Doctor had created a way of being with River that didn’t mean that they spent every waking moment together (She didn’t live in the Tardis). He would just “arrive” on her doorstep in any regeneration and take her on wild adventures. Kind of like “The Time-traveller’s Wife” not that I’ve ever read it.

    But again, this sounds good to me. It means that we can have a romantic plotline in Doctor Who that doesn’t take up the whole show, and may finally give The Doctor a structured and sensible way to “do” relationships that suits his lifestyle.

    Just musing.

  4. July 24, 2009 10:54 am

    I agree Steve! I got so bored with Rose’s whinging love-struck teenager, and Martha’s unrequited love thang pissed me off too. Let’s for once have a Doc and a companion who can work together and not want to boff one another. It *does* happen you know!

  5. July 24, 2009 11:19 am

    BadgerMadge you got an email? Can you drop me a line?

  6. Clarry permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:42 am

    Hi Badger,

    Clarry here. Clarry’s Mam has an akchewal genuwine prize for you, and would like to send it to you. Can you access my email now i’ve commented on your blog? If so can you email me an address – I promise we won’t send you turds or come and stab you up.

  7. August 5, 2009 11:07 am

    Ha, Clarry I’d forgotten your Mam owes me a present. It’s 2 Badger’s Den, Second mound to the left, Grove Forest.

    What news from the word of Mothers? I’ve not been about recently. Had some bad family news last week 😦

    BMx

  8. Clarry permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:06 pm

    Sorry to hear you’ve had bad news Badger. Hope all will be ok.

    *hugs badger*

    Seriuzzly – Mam has been to an ACTUAL shop and bought you an ACTUAL present, so make sure you disclose you REAL address or you shall miss out (although it has no significant monetary value, so don’t get too excited).

    Do you have an email address where we could swap details privately? Or could you pass it onto Swineshead or summat? I promise this is nothing sinister or weird.

    It’s been a bit quiet over at WWM. Everyone’s on holiday or working I reckon.

Leave a Reply

