Skip to content

Loadsa money!

August 20, 2008

The Secret Millionaire is always good for a tear jerk. Its premise is simple: rich person goes to poor place, gets to know those from a totally different background, cries a bit, feels guilty about own social standing, injects some much-needed dosh then buggers off back to their high life.

But last night’s millionaire was different. He might look and sound a bit like one of those awful braying City lot, with his plummy accent and foppish hair (and hey, as someone who owns half of Oxford Street, Alton Towers, Thorpe Park etc he doesn’t exactly invite an easy ride), but Nick Leslau has to be on my top ten nicest blokes of all time list – and not just because he gave away a whopping £250,000. Like the successful business man he is, he laid down five-year plans with the charities and organisations he helped, making sure his involvement was more than just a swift pay out.

He forged friends with a depressed blind man, cleared an old lady’s house of cat shit and even cleaned a horses penis, which is a helluva lot more than can be said for even the most well-intentioned of us. Towards the end of the programme, Nick had made friends on his own terms and not just because he was rich. Bless him.

Got me thinking about maybe doing some volunteer work – seeing that poor old lady (no jokes about her beard please, it happens, OK? Deal with it) all alone with no one to help her with her cat shit really upset me and made me realise how lucky my beloved grandma was to have live-in carers and family around her. Likewise, his relationship with the guy who went blind more or less overnight made me think about my grandpa, who was blind (and mostly deaf towards the end!) and about how horrible it must be. Reckon I might pop to my nearest hippy shack and adopt a granny. But I ain’t cleaning no horse’s cock, OK?

And yes, this is Badger Madge officially going soft in her old age (no beard as yet though).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 5:50 pm

    If I had £200 million in the bank, I’d splash 0.0000233% (exactly) on unfortunate souls, whilst making myself look good and stuff on a prime time show. It’d be entertaining.

    You sail one yacht, you’ve sailed them all.

  2. August 21, 2008 6:32 pm

    Yeah, but would you wash a horse’s cock, Dave? That’s the question…

  3. daveselectricblanket permalink
    August 22, 2008 9:11 am

    He’s a greater man than I, but allow me to wallow in my cynicism.

    The bastard, rich do-gooder bugger!

Leave a Reply

