Skip to content

Facebook is my comfort blanket…

July 30, 2008

Something I’ve been pondering over for a while – nope, actually it’s something that’s kinda been bugging me – is how much control the internet seems to have over my life.

It’s hardly the revelation of the century. I’ve lost count of the number of time my mates and I have laughed at memories of Before the Internet, When the Internet First Arrived, etc etc. I’m sure there have been countless (probably Guardian) articles about how the internet has taken over our lives.

But it’s even the nitty gritty things. Like, I’m sure we’ve all been sitting around a pub trying to think of the name of that dude what was in that film, and *REALLY* needing IMDB, like *right there* in front of us. But not a passing, “Oh, wouldn’t it be great to have access to IMDB” but a burning bile-filled frustration that you’re out of range of information.  It reminds me of something an old friend of mine used to say – that one day we’d all have computers implanted in our hands and would be able to access the net and emails that way. All we need now, is for someone to stick their iPhone – or whatever it’s called – in their hand and it’s more or less there, isn’t it? This is all coming from someone whose phone is from the early 90s before you start, by the way. It barely has a camera.

I’ve also noticed that, in times of crisis or upset, I revert to thinking about Facebook. When I left Mr Badger, one of my first thoughts was, “Shit, I’m going to have to change my Facebook profile and I can’t do that til I get into the office tomorrow.”

When I’m pottering about my flat of an evening, I think to myself, “Madge is pottering about her flat,” or “Madge wonders what she’ll have for supper.” For fuck’s sake! How has it got to this stage?!

When friends come down to visit, of course I look forward to them coming. But I get the urge (almost like a fag craving) to put the photos up on Facebook as soon as possible. In fact, when people take photos of me, I don’t think, “Aw, this’ll be a nice record of today.” I think, “Hmmm, I wonder if this’ll make a good profile pic.”

Like I said the other day, it’s also taking over my blog postings. It’s much easier to quickly update my Facebook status than it is to sit here, typing a load of nonsense furiously, then sourcing some pic off the net that will best illustrate it. But how come it’s just me who’s been sucked in this way?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2008 4:45 pm

    You need help!

    Love the banner btw – who made that then?

  2. July 30, 2008 7:57 pm

    Oooh yes my lovely banner. Been meaning to big that up. Twas made by the lovely Dave Tupper, take a bow, Dave…. Dave??

  3. Not Dave permalink
    July 30, 2008 9:08 pm

    Dave cares not to comment. Although as his official spokesperson, I can say that he is quite miffed that no mention was given prior to this small comment.

  4. July 30, 2008 9:33 pm

    Shit! Not Dave will you please pass on my embarrassment to your client, Dave. Please inform him that I intend to do a bells and whistles post about his wondrous banner as soon as I sort my shit out. Promise.

    In the mean time: sexual favours.

Leave a Reply

