Skip to content

Thank you for the music, let’s just leave it there, shall we?

July 3, 2008

I know this sort of thing should be right up my street, but I just can’t get my head around all the fuss over Mamma Mia (now I know how all you anti-SATC lot were feeling). I dig Abba (and I’m not afraid to admit it), I like musicals and I’m all for adaptations and anything that’ll get the general populous into the theatre (eventually).

But… I dunno. I just don’t get this. They’re creating some kind of melo-drama around Abba songs. It’s about a girl searching for her father – a storyline that doesn’t exactly involve the very public break-up of two marriages set against a world of glitter, spandex and lipgloss (and that’s just the boys – fnar). The real Abba story would make a helluva better movie, imo! What was a heartbreaking song about not being able to give up the person you love, even though they hurt you, turns into some kind of weird song about cleaning a handbag, from what I can gather. It’s just wrong.

Not only this, but the media have gone Abba crazy. Not that this is a bad thing, but they’re doing so in the kind of “Ha, wasn’t Abba funny, eh? With their silly hair dos and Lycra?” GMTV are running seg-ways all week with the presenters going on about their favourite Abba songs. “Mine’s The Winner Takes It All!” chirps a caffeine-pumped Ben Sheppard. Clearly the boy has never even listened to the lyrics (or seen the heart-wrenching video). Twat.
(NB: Bear in mind that, at this stage, the marriage had collapsed and yet she still had to sing the words her ex wrote about her. Just miserable).

This culminated the other morning in a rendition of Mamma Mia and Dancing Queen by the cast of Mamma Mia. The finale was a trio of menopausal women, trust up in full-on bright neon jumpsuits (which let’s face it even made The Blonde One look fat back in the day). They sang tunelessly to Dancing Queen, while youthful dancers pranced around them with unending energy.

Abba aren’t all sunshine and lipgloss. That’s their beauty. Underneath all that, there’s darkness, pain, and no end of heartbreak. That’s why I love them. Hen dos and pissed-up students may request Dancing Queen all the time of an evening. Little do they know it’s actually a lament about a young slapper.

But do you know what really bites about this whole Mamma Mia malarkey? They’ve changed the effing lyrics. What was: “I’ve been cheated by you, since I don’t know when,” has become: “I’ve been cheated by you, and I think you know when.” Which changes the whole point of the lyric! Before, the singer is feeble, confessing she’s known all along and hasn’t done anything about it. The second lyric is more aggressive, more challenging, and it’s just not right, dagnammit!

Yes, I know one of the boys helped with the musical, and the two are both helping to market the film, but, it just reeks of money munching. I know it’s tempting to go and see Pierce Brosnan go and make a tit of himself by singing an Abba song, but can’t we do the dignified thing and just let it lie?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2008 12:35 am

    I saw the musical a few years back (OK may 7 years ago) and actually wrote a review for a tiny little London paper (in my wannabe journo hack days). The musical was fine for a frivolous fluffy bit of schmaltzy entertainment but I didn’t see that it would really make a movie.

    P.S. BadgerMadge — why don’t the rest of the “Woo Crowd” (you know the ones, PlanetMondo, Piqued, Swineshead, BPP, etc etc) comment on your blog much …. are they all too busy with their own blogs? Cos I know you are part of the same crowd + The Woo sometimes tags you.

  2. July 4, 2008 8:41 am

    I caught a bit of the Mamma Mia programme last night but it irked me so much I flicked over the BB. I still stand by the fact that the actual Abba story would make a much better (and more worthy) film

    LOL I get the odd comment from Swineshead and the others but either they can’t be arsed, don’t warrant what I’m saying commentable or (more likely) can’t comment because I talk about things like SATC. hey ho. Since I also started putting it up on Facebook, there seems to be a bit more action over there too.

  3. July 6, 2008 12:30 pm

    Surprise, surprise, I hate ABBA. No doubt the film will be awful, though I’d say it’ll be awful primarily because it contains music by the shittest band of the 1970s. You don’t ‘alf like some shite, you.

  4. July 16, 2008 4:00 pm

    BadgerMadge,

    If you want another musical to write about how about:

    “Shane Warne the Musical”

    no, really, I kid you not — it exists — I will try to past the link here:

    http://www.ticketmaster.com.au/promo/zbiy1a

    I’m sure one of you media peeps can write something witty about that !!

    Best wishes,
    Sharon

  5. shukri permalink
    September 3, 2009 3:08 pm

    hei jeg heter shukri og jeg kommer fra somalia jeg er 12år gammel

  6. September 3, 2009 3:09 pm

    hei jeg heter shukri og jeg kommer fra somalia jeg er 12år gammel og jeg vil denne sangen mamma mia

Leave a Reply

