Skip to content

Come on new schedules!

February 19, 2008

Over a week since my last post. Apologies. I’d list the usual excuses: I’ve been uber busy at work, couldn’t be arsed… But frankly, there’s been bugger all to write about. Yes, I could have mocked Eastenders (yet again) for taking an already-written character from Hollyoaks and plonking her in Walford (surely the Oaks peeps should look into some sort of intellectual property issues there), I could berate them for hiring an actress that can’t act a bitch (even though it’s really easy) and isn’t even that sexy. But it would rather be like kicking a Britney when she’s down.

Other than that there’s been a good second episode of A2A (where Gene finally stamps his authority on Drake, ho ho), Torchwood wasn’t bad either, except I’ve kind of lost my thread with it now. I can take it or leave it to be honest. I’m in Lost country, but I don’t want to blog about that in case I spoil it for peeps. Plus Damages is kicking ass in the ‘what-the-feck-is-going-on’ stakes (I now have a new lady-crush – Glenn Close is an amaaaaazing actress). But other than that there’s been bugger all on. I don’t care about state-school kids and their quoir, I’m not that bothered about people who can cook being told they can cook by John Torode, I don;t care about Gordon Ramsey winding up the yanks (although that is kinda funny)

sex-and-the-city-main.jpg So I’ve fallen back on the old reliable – Sex and the City. I’m now on series three (Aidan, affair with Big, Charlotte’s wedding to impotent, plastic-faced Trey). Watched one of the final eps in the series last night and realised just how my new job has quietly taken over me – in one scene (where Carrie meets comic-shop-owner Wade) I should have been carefully and systematically filing away details about Carrie’s Fendi bag, her Jimmy Choo heels, her Christian Lacroix scarf. But nooooooo. I’m so Power Rangered-, Sonic the Hedgehog’d-, Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtles’d-up that what do I notice instead? That Wade is wearing a Speed Racer t-shirt. I ask you…

Of course, having written all that, I realised (upon spell checking – yes, I do spell check sometimes) that I can spell Lacroix without having to Google him to check. I’m still in here somewhere!

So with telly going a bit stale at the mo, here’s what I’m looking forward to in the coming weeks:
New Lewis (yes, I’m officially an old woman – pass the Horlicks – but nothing beats the charm of Oxford on screen).
New Mitchell and Webb (The young person’s Lee and Herring are almost top in my ‘you-really-shouldn’t-fancy-him-but-you-do’ list. The first series was rather underrated and misunderstood. But then, That’s Numberwang! Looking forward to the glorious Peep Show later in the year too).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 8:38 pm

    I’m right off telly, except lovely Andrew Graham Dixon on Spanish art. But I am looking forward to M&W, and I think David Mitchell is the funniest thing ever. I do wish interviewers would leave his sexuality alone.

  2. February 19, 2008 10:40 pm

    is he gay?!

  3. February 20, 2008 11:02 am

    I didn’t know he’s gay either. Is he?

    Just one point to pick you up on badger – that Claire character is the original Claire from yars ago – same actress… so even if she can’t act, at least she’s the original Claire we knew and forgot.

  4. February 20, 2008 11:26 am

    oh yes i knew that. but she couldn’t act then and she can’t act now.

  5. Who permalink
    February 20, 2008 11:31 am

    My top two telly crushes at the mo are Gene Hunt and David Mitchell – I know a lady needs different tools for different jobs, but so wrong, somehow. Roll on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

