Skip to content

See you in hell

January 14, 2008

reaper-head.jpg

With the writer’s strike in the US still affecting my television viewing (Heroes has taken an early season break, No Ugly Betty…) it’s fantastic to come across a stunning little ditty in the form of Reaper. Due on E4 soon, the series is about a 21-year-old everyman, Sam who (on his 21st birthday) finds out his parents have sold his soul to the devil. Yeah, thanks mum… Aided by his slacker sidekick ‘Sock’, Sam must fight the forces of evil, capturing escaped souls and sending them back to hell, while also doing his best to capture the heart of colleague, Andi.

reaper5.jpgIt’s typical Kevin Smith fayre in the sense that all his usual characters are there (the everyman; the slacker side kick with the witty one-liners; the stunning, perfect woman…), but Smith directed only the first episode (I’ve seen the first two so far and the second is actually stronger). Star of the show for me has to be the rather wankly-named Tyler Labine who plays Bert ‘Sock’ Wysocki. You may remember Labine from his role as Dave in Invasion (and if you’ve visited these pages before, you’ll know I had a bit of a soft spot for him in it). Well the chubby chasing commences with Reaper, as Sock has all the best lines (and is strangely sexy in a Jack Black kinda way – except not as annoying).

It’s great stuff and is one of those shows where it really could run and run (like My Name is Earl, where they can keep adding things to the list, with Reaper, there could be countless souls to hunt). I fear though, that the strike could be the nail in its coffin (fnar). I heard that because of the strike, many new US shows will be canned, and even some popular ones might have to wrap… Thank god the first series is done and dusted – I’d hate for it to stop half way through.

sock2.jpgWhatever the case, it has proven that I, Badger Madge, officially have a thing for chubby men. First Jack Black, then Dave in Invasion, then Hurley off Lost (not in a sexual way, mind. I just think he’s lovely) and now bloody Socks off Reaper (yes, he’s essentially Dave in Invasion, but still). Guess Mr B will just have to carry on eating the pies…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2008 1:31 pm

    I’ve heard mixed reviews about this show and I’ve yet to catch an episode. I’m not even sure if it’s still on what with this ongoing strike, but, based on your review, I’m going to have to watch me some Reaper. Oh, and I also liked that mini-series Invasion. 🙂

  2. January 14, 2008 2:09 pm

    yes it’s good stuff. lots of laugh out loud bits, and the guy playing the devil is great too. i really hope they keep it!

Leave a Reply

