Skip to content

The Same X factor final. But Different?

December 12, 2007

Did we all make it over safely from Blogger then? Good, good…So, the X factor final then. I for one am not surprised at this motley crew. The best of a bad bunch. What an anti-climax!

I knew Niki wouldn’t make it. If she wasn’t shouting her way through Louis Walsh’s back catalogue of Diva anthems, she was reminding us all (once again) that she was only a dinner lady and that her dad entered her into the comp before he died (unknown to her). Sob story, after sob story. Niki’s nail in the coffin (scuse the bad taste) for me came last Saturday when, after letting her every-woman mask slip, she yelled at Simon, “But I’m the only singer here!” before self-editing and changing the comment to “No-one’s like me in this competition, Simon.” Hmmm. So that lost you a fair few votes, me thinks.

Speaking of sob stories, the forums are awash with anti-Same Difference posts, arguing over Little Sarah’s (you’ve gotta call her Little Sarah) ‘moment of emotion’ after her performance last week. Many are calling it a desperate attempt to secure votes, but I think different. Lots of people were bullied at school, and those who were will understand the pain she felt – and still feels. Years after my school days, I have yet to reconcile with those who made my days a misery purely because their treatment of me cut so deep. You might think I bear grudges. But actually, it’s more that it’s still too painful to be reminded. Yes, people change, but pain doesn’t.

Aaaaanyway.

No, Sarah wasn’t turning on the tears. Nor was she crying because she sang a bit out of tune (at least she doesn’t yell to get the note out, a la Niki). Sarah was emotional because she was a) utterly proud of herself and her brother for standing on stage, singing their hearts out week after week (and enduring stupid comments from Walsh), and b) she was very emotional remembering her school days (the song they chose was, after all the song that got her through it all). c) Moved because she had been bullied for her passion for music, and was finally living her dream of being a singer. One in the eye for the bullies.

Hearing their story, it’s no wonder Same Difference are like they are – slightly too plucky, slightly annoyingly happy ALL. THE. TIME. And it says a lot about their relationship too. Who else can say that their best mate is their brother (or sister)? Yes, me and my bro get on. But there was a time when we were teens that we actively despised each other. (No shit: knives were thrown at one stage). So such a bond between two siblings is something to be celebrated.

I should naturally hate them and their chirpy, feel-good, 2.4, everything’s perfect bloody attitude. Even their surname (Smith) denotes banality. But I cacking love ’em. Cowell’s a shrewed man for keeping them in so long. He knows High School Musical-style funnery is where it’s at right now.

Thinking about who I’d want as the Xmas number one this year (because the winner *will* be xmas number one. There’s no escaping that) do I really want Ray Quinn’s evil ugly brother? Ryddian? I like the Ryddler for putting up with everything the X Factor has thrown at him (bad editing, dodgy hair, awful clothes), but I can’t see him being number one.

I *can* however see Same Difference wrapped up in winter warmth, snow falling, lights twinkling, their shining eyes and glowing cheeks a smiling…

Come on. You know it makes sense.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2007 7:17 pm

    Holy crap! What a lovely template! I recently struggled to find a nice blogspot template and I’m still not happy with what I’ve got (and I’ve just realised it rips off your old one, with the TV and everything – totally unintentional, sorry!).

    Hmm. How do I switch to wordpress, then?

  2. Kim permalink
    December 13, 2007 12:35 pm

    I agree. Before Saturday I found Same Difference quite unsettling – sinister, almost! – with their perma-grins, but on Saturday we saw the human side which meant it all kind of made sense. I don’t like sob stories, and the cynic in me thinks that Simon probably wanted/needed them to have an ‘angle’ this week that would pull in some more votes – but the fact that they haven’t played on this throughout the whole competition meant that I had more sympathy with them. They could’ve easily paraded this one out week on week especially given that they were taking a lot of stick from Louis. That said, I would still like to see Rhydian win, but I think that SD are definitely worthy finalists and as long as Leon doesn’t win I’ll be happy!

  3. December 14, 2007 10:43 am

    Same Difference should be put down.
    Rhyddian should be banished to Butlins.
    Niki belongs in a rural pub karaoke.

    THERE IS NO TALENT ON DISPLAY HERE LADIES n GENNELMUN, PLEEEEEEASE DISPERSE

    Nice to have you on WordPress, Badger.

  4. December 18, 2007 4:14 pm

    Did you see the final?
    Give us an update!
    It was so clearly a fix.

    And Same Difference so clearly have sex with each other using a roasted interim sex-conduit so as to avoid the incest claims.

  5. December 18, 2007 4:21 pm

    I have nothing to say about Saturday. It was clear it was a fix when Simon *accidentally* called Rhyddian, Leon.

    Leon has absolutely no personality whatsoever, I have no idea how he got through, other than that Dermot et al were drumming up the Scotland v England v Wales thing, and Scottish and Welsh peeps brim with national pride whereas English people a) can’t be arsed and b) are quite ashamed to be pro English c) don’t really have much to their national identity other than a) and b)…

    PS How dare you say that about SD!

  6. January 8, 2008 5:10 am

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

