Skip to content

A coke and bull story

November 19, 2007

Readers of my other blog might have spotted this little ditty I waffled about a while ago about my preference for Pepsi over Coke.

So obviously I sat down to watch Dispatches: Mark Thomas on Coca-Cola tonight (Ch4, 8pm). It was the usual Mark Thomas fare: delving into how this global company pisses on everyone. But mostly its workers in Columbia and those living in villages where the company has bottling plants, and sugaring facilities.

It’s difficult to see the company’s blatant disregard for their own workers, their blind-eye-turning to polluting village rivers, child labour, workers being killed regularly just because they’re part of a workers’ union and not think you’ll never drink coke again. But of course I will. That horrid watered-down version of it in the pub. But I won’t buy it from a shop. I just don’t think I could. Yes, anyone who knows me knows I’m a big fan of Primark, and yes, I know (deep in the back of my conscience) that they’re probably the naughtiest of the lot.

But this small step redeems me.

Apparently the most popular ‘last drink’ for people is a coke. I find that incredible. I must say, if I had the chance to choose my last drink it would have to be a Mc Donalds Strawberry milkshake.

Guess I’m not that redeemable after all…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

