Skip to content

TV maker in admitting-mistakes shocker

November 7, 2007

Thanks to Nick Setchfield over on SFX mag for pointing me to this surprisingly refreshing and honest interview with Heroes’ Tim Kring. How lovely to finally have a creator being so candid and admitting to possible mistakes. Here are my thoughts on his confessions (there are spoilers for Heroes season two here, by the way):

THE PACE IS TOO SLOW

I disagree. Yes viewers from season one were aclimatised to a certain pace, but we’re not monkeys. We can adapt (hey, it’s all about evolution, right Mr Kirng?). But I agree the first few eps of S2 were a bit dull, and shockingly frustrating compared to S1.

THE WORLD-SAVING STAKES SHOULD HAVE BEEN ESTABLISHED SOONER
I’ve not got to Ep7 yet so I’ve just bloody ruined it for myself. But I was looking forward to a different evil/threat this season. Or at least make it more company/character development focussed.

THE ROOKIES DIDN’T GREET THEMSELVES PROPERLY

Not liking the newbies at all, really. I love that, in S1 they were all linked (better to understand who was who too). Hate to sound racist, but I’m not digging the Mexicans. The girl (see? I don’t even like them enough to bother learning their names) is too wet and her pronunciation of ‘Gabriel’ just bugs me.

HIRO WAS IN JAPAN WAY TOO LONG
Hell yeah!

YOUNG LOVE STINKS
Agreed, Claire and the flying boy weren’t a great move. But I didn’t like Masi Oka’s love sick Hiro. Bless his cotton kimono.

On a side note, while searching for a pick of Tim Kring for this post, I came across this little thing. Not quite sure exactly who’s who, but I like it none-the-less.

I love cute manga-style cartoons of things I’m fond of. It reminds me of this wondrous drawing of the Endless that I’ve adored for years.

Also this lovely line-up of the Doctor’s companions (thanks to Rhi for showing me that).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

