Skip to content

A cross between Tim and Andy Millman

October 5, 2007

Most people who know me quite well know I have a bit of a penchant for Martin Freeman. OK, he’s no Brad Pitt, but there’s just something about him. He’s crumpled, he’s scruffy, he has eye bags for gawd’s sake. But shucks I love ‘im. He can put my stapler in his jelly any day (yes, I know that doesn’t make sense but give me a break here, I’m declaring my undying love).

In his one-off (by one-off we – and ITV – mean one-off-that-we-hope-enough-
people-watch-to-turn-it-into-a-series) comedy Other People tonight, Martin played a one-time child star (which sadly he doesn’t really pull off no matter the braces or wigs) who now works in an up-market DFS. With a wanker for a boss, Martin’s character, Greg, is frustrated and yearns for something more (sound familiar). Greg is taken to court when he accidentally (and embarrassingly) is accused of assaulting a fan (Again. Familiar at all?)

Yes, I really wanted to love Martin in this, but felt his performance was too reminiscent of his Office days and also borrowed heavily from Gervais’ other productions. Greg is a cross between Tim (when working in the store) and Andy Millman (when recognised) and it’s actually the support who shines. If the series is recommissioned, I’m hoping that Nicholas Burns’ relaxed and unaware performance of Manager Rick didn’t go un-noticed. He *must* appear; he’s a great yang to Greg’s yin.

Anyway, it’s late and I’ve run out of things to say about Other People. It was good. I laughed out loud twice (which is good) and am looking forward to more Comedy Showcases. Bring on the mirth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bright Ambassador permalink
    October 6, 2007 12:07 pm

    I enjoyed it, but don’t think there was enough of a basic premise to turn it in to a series. Oh and Siobhan Finnernan and Phil Davis in ANYTHING make it worth watching.

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    October 8, 2007 6:39 pm

    I’ve heard a few peeps say this and I can understand. I saw it going along similar lines as Extras…

Leave a Reply

