Skip to content

"Here. Swear. Swear on Chanel"

September 12, 2007

A girly sleepover at the lady Rachel’s house was the order of the day (or evening) on Friday night and what better way to spend the evening than with a bottle of rose, a packet (or two) of Haribo and Sex And The City on DVD.

Yes, I know. Many have scorned at SATC since its finale (and many scoffed way before that). When the first episode aired over here, I thought it was ridiculous. Just a stupid waste of time, watching women bitch about their vaginas. I thought it was gratuitous for gratuities sake. But then I warmed to it. The fashion, the romance, the devotion of the girls to each other…

Towards the end of the series, I stopped watching as I had begun to despair over the stigma that had attached itself to the programme: the web quizzes asking ‘Which SATC Character Are You?’; The cringe-inducing SATC parties women were having… SATC had turned into one of those horrible Jim Royale biscuit tins you get in Clintons. Embarrassing, tacky and something people (especially men) would immediately judge you on if you dared admit you liked it. They (and I) began to associate SATC viewers with Ally McBeal and Bridget Jones types.

But watching it again last weekend, I remembered how clever it was. The scripts were spunky (scuse the pun), tight and hilariously funny – and the delivery first rate. Series four had Rachel and I cackling with laughter on Friday night with its wit and I began to feel real nostalgia for the time when SATC wasn’t something to feel guilty for loving.

Yes, the girls’ lives are ridiculous. Yes the fashion is out of this world. And yes, each episode starts with Carrie doing that annoying “I’m a journalist. I’m going to type a posing question to introduce the theme of this week’s episode” thing. But it was a chance for us to make believe. A chance to dress up vicariously through Carrie and her fabulous, outrageous wardrobe for 30 minutes.

What I realised on Friday – in a sudden light bulb moment – was that SATC was totally different from Ally McBeal and Bridget Jones. SATC didn’t whinge over weight gain or patronisingly present women as either ditzy but cute, or strong and emotionally cold. I realise I might be taking on that tacky mantle by saying this but SATC showed viewers that women can be successful, strong, caring, beautiful and clever all in one. Women didn’t have to compromise any more.

So yay to SATC, see this link on what other people have thought of the series and here are two good quotes I like…
Carrie: [about therapists] First they want you to come there two times a week, then three times a week, and eventually you’re starting every sentence with ‘my therapist says… ‘
Miranda: My therapist says that’s a very common fear.

Charlotte: I proposed to myself.
Carrie: What?
Charlotte: Yes. I suggested he have a tomato salad, then I suggested we get married.
Carrie: Wait. What exactly did he say?
Charlotte: All righty.
Carrie: All righty? He said all righty? Now I’m thinking the upsetting thing isn’t that you proposed, it’s that you proposed to a guy that says “all righty”.
Charlotte: Oh, Carrie, stop.
Carrie: All righty.

One Comment leave one →
  1. BPP permalink
    September 12, 2007 1:50 pm

    “I …”
    “NO! You’re the wrong sex!”
    “But …”
    “NO! BEHAVE! Leave the nice lady alone!”

    *gnashes teeth, foams at mouth, furiously hunts for darts on Sky Sports to restore equilibrium*

Leave a Reply

