Skip to content

Robots in disguise

August 2, 2007

Went to the flicks last night to see Transformers. And it kicked feckin’ ass!

I’ve been waiting for this film ever since that Citroen advert with the dancing car (still my favourite piece of animation to this day) and it certainly didn’t let me down. I was a tad worried it would be of the Fast… Furious model: stunning cars, stunning women, bad acting and general chaviness. But although Transformers had the beautiful cars, the beautiful women and it was a bit cheesy in parts, it was clever, tongue in cheek, funny and feel-good.

Yes, it has Michael Bay’s trademark “what-the-hell-am-I-looking-at?” fast-paced action – and your eyes will go a bit funny towards the end – but the robots are stunning, the animation is flawless, the sound is amazing and there’s also some very comic in jokes:

Cafe’ kid 1: [running through the chaos caused by the falling protoforms] Wow… this is the coolest thing I’ve ever seen. This is easily a hundred times cooler than Armageddon… I swear to god!

Also, there’s a bit where Bumblebee (yellow with black stripes) drives along to rhe Kill Bill soundtrack – brilliant.

I also loved the shot of the little girl holding her My Little Pony. When we were kids, I was very much into MLPs and my brother had a few Transformers – they were the best-selling toys of our childhood. I was sure they’d maybe place one of the toys somewhere in the film, but didn’t see it.

Walking past the SFX bit of our office, I noticed a box full of Transformers and robots. Taking one out, I had a bit of a play and couldn’t for the life of me get it back to its disguised form. I have no idea how we managed to play with these things as kids. No wonder kids these days are ASBO-laden, bored and brainless. They don;t have toys like we did that challenged them. I spent about ten minutes back at my desk trying desperately to turn this robot into whatever machine he was meant to be, but only succeeded in making him into a rather mangled robot… Hmm, maybe that’s his (not very good) disguise…?

Take a look yourself at how intricate they were…

Loving the fact that these characters that were essentially created to sell toys to kids, are now being used to sell cars to the same (now grown up) kids! Anyway, if you’ve not already, do go and see this film. Don’t wait for the DVD – this HAS to be seen on the big screen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

