Skip to content

Fahm-lee

July 30, 2007

There’s some TV that broadens your soul, makes you learn about the world around you and impresses work mates and pretentious people down the pub. These are the shows that it’s okay to watch as it gives you a) something to talk about to said pretentious person and b) makes you look like one of those clever well-read people who read the Guardian on Sunday morning, eat only organic fruit and veg and drink lattes (but not from Starbucks, oh no). Such programs are things like any news or current affairs programme, anything with David Attenborough, (Sir) Stephen Fry, or one of the Snow boys. You know the type of show I mean.

On the other end of the scale are programmes that you’d never admit to watching even if someone was clamping your nipples with bulldog clips whilst repeatedly kicking you where it hurts. These are your guilty pleasure programmes and as you know, I’m not ashamed of having quite a few of those: Eastenders, Hollyoaks, Bog Brother… But my latest is actually quite shameful. If I were a 15-year-old school girl or a HRT-popping older lady then I don’t suppose it would be quite as bad but… I really like Brothers & Sisters.

There. I’ve said it. Okay, so it’s cheesy and there’s annoying incidental music throughout the WHOLE show, the acting isn’t that great and no one’s family can a) have that many secrets whilst getting along that well b) be that good looking. But… I just can’t help watching it. Every time someone finds some deep dark secret out, they vow not to tell their mother and yet she ALWAYS finds out. Every time Ally McBeal (for that is the only role Calista Flockhart can play) vows never to snog that fit bloke she works with, she ALWAYS caves in to his cheeky charms. There’s also a point in each and every episode where one of her kids blames their mum for being too controlling, or not caring enough, or being too interfering, or something. But I just can’t help but love this show. I also love Sally Field in this. In many ways, she reminds me of my own mum – funny, devoted and just a tad on the overkill side of caring (but I wouldn’t have it any other way).

There’s also the yummy Balthazar Getty, who I last saw as a teeny tiny little boy in Young Guns 2 – my, hasn’t he grown; Matthew Rhys (who’s welsh but does a kick ass yank impersonation) and the dark and brooding (there’s always one) Dave Annable as black sheep of the family Justin (right).

Oh, and if that weren’t enough, there’s the fabulous Rachel Griffiths who’s one of my favourite actresses ever, playing the wise, eldest sister Sarah. So, great cast, dodgy schmaltzy writing and everything else, but hey, it’ll be our little secret, yes?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

