Skip to content

C*nts, Confusion and Condolences

July 30, 2007

Day off today and it’s a Monday after a heady weekend so, yes, you’ve guessed it: cue music, it’s another weekend round up!

Friday:
Ding dong, the bitch has gone! Thank feck for that.

I’m not being funny right but if I’d had to put up with Charley for another week yeah I’d’ve totally freak out yeah? and probably gone off on one of those rants she likes to do right where she just talks and talks and talks and doesn’t take a breathe or pause or anything because she’s such a fame hungry bitch who likes to hog the limelight right not being funny though love the girl bless her…even though she do look like Ronaldinho.

Cynics out there will argue that obviously the makers were that worried mid week about Charley’s impending departure that they decided to inject six more housemates come Friday. Others argue that the house needs perking up a bit mid way through and that BB always injects new people in nowadays. Make of it what you will… Think it’s hilarious that one left (presumably because he realised what a bunch of twats he’d be associated with – the makers, not the housemates, that is).

So far, I’m loving Dave the Scottish goth. He calls himself a Pagan, but he’s not one. I used to work in one of those hippy shops that sold things like wands and pagan books and stuff, and I’ve picked up enough about Wicca to know that a real Pagan wouldn’t abuse their body by smoking a drinking. Just a small thing, but an important one nonetheless. But I won’t hold this against him. He seems like a nice chappy and that accent is sooooooo sexy.

Also liking Amy. Yes I know I should hate her for everything she represents, but compared with that Welsh slapper with no boobs just fat who wants to be Jewish because “Jewish ladies always wear nice clothes and drive nice cars,” and Mr Paedophile who spends most of his time talking to his cuddly toys, she looks like a saint. Yes, it would be fun to put Mr Paedo in, but I’d seriously fear for the twins’ lives.

There’s a rather horsey lady who seems quite interesting too. In her audition tape she said she always smiles. I’ll give her a week in the house before she tears her hair out, runs screeching around the garden before eating her own vomit out of sheer frustration.

Saturday
Jekyll. Right. Now, I consider myself quite an intelligent girly. You know… I read Shakespeare. For pleasure (sometimes, ahem). I’ve gone to uni and work in an industry that doesn’t suffer fools gladly. But what the feck was all that about then eh? It had more twists than James Nesbitt’s curly hair that did! So from what I made out, Jekyll *did* have descendants after all (after repeatedly telling us all series that he hadn’t, hmmmm) except it was a lady, who gave birth to James Nesbitt. This mother’s evil side for some reason wanted to harness his powers because he was the perfect specimen of the original Jekyll’s and so cloned his only love and made her marry Nesbitt in order to get Hyde out of him. Or something.

Okay, so it was peaky in parts and at times the acting was a tad dodgy, but it was great trashy telly to watch of a Saturday evening, even if it wasn’t quite what I imagined it to be and didn’t turn out quite as interesting as I’d hoped. They’ve obviously left it open for another series with the twin boys being able to swap places (oooooh, I’m pooing myself with excitement. No rilly…) but I hope they leave it at that. I really do.

Sunday
News came through that Mike ‘Frank Butcher’ Reid died of a heart attack aged only 67. I only ever knew him as enders’ Frank Butcher and thankfully escaped his time as a comic (I saw a photo of him with Bernard Manning and fear that he wasn’t actually funny but a racist. I’ve yet to find anything that confirms this, so I hope that shot was just some publicity stunt or something…).

Anyway, here’s to Mr Reid. I shall always remember him standing naked at Pat’s door wearing nowt but a spinning er… dicky bow. RIP me old mucka.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhian permalink
    July 31, 2007 8:08 am

    Okay, haven’t seen it, but Pagans can drink and smoke just like any other religion. Believing in something doesn’t make them perfect and doesn’t mean they’ll have the willpower to follow it to the letter. It’s like saying that someone can’t possibly be a Christian if they’ve slept with someone before marriage – they might not be a very good Christian, but if they still believe in it and worship Jesus then they’re still a Christian. You can abuse your body and still be a Pagan.

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    July 31, 2007 9:05 am

    Sure thing. Of course they *can* drink and smoke, but they really shouldn’t. Their central belief is the cyclical nature of all things. The body is to be worshiped, not abused.

    I hate it when people claim to be “a pagan” when actually, paganism isn’t the religion. It’s the *type* of religion. It would be like me saying I’m a semite (when actually my religion is semitic – see the difference?). It’s ludicrous!

    I still think he’s a knob for proclaiming his paganism and then smoking like a chimney, but there you go. And he is still my fave of the lot (I suppose I’m just being picky).

  3. Rhian permalink
    August 2, 2007 1:18 pm

    I don’t know… I can see why people just say Pagan, I don’t think you have to be specifically Wicca, or Druid or whatever. And I have a friend who would say she’s Pagan cos people understand what it means better than if she says she’s Stoic (see here for her blog discussion of whether she’s Pagan http://www.stoicsister.com/blog/am-i-pagan ) and I can certainly see why Wiccans might say it as it doesn’t carry the negative connotations that saying Witch might.

    And one of the central beliefs of Christianity is that man was created in the image of God, and therefore our bodies are to be respected, and plenty of Christians still smoke and drink. Would you have said that you disagreed with someone calling themselves a Christian if they did those things?

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    August 2, 2007 1:28 pm

    No, and you’re right: I phrased it wrong. I shouldn’t have said he wasn’t a real Pagan. But it’s certainly not a good one!

    And your mate who has a blog asking people if they think she’s a Pagan? WTF?! Sorry, but that’s the kind of wanky self-indulgent crap that made me hate certain sub-cultures who do that (a lot) in the first place!

    In my experience, anyone who calls themself a Pagan (whether to make it easier for others or not) is generally scoffed at. Surely people who lean towards that type of thing are the kind of people who want to educate others. Surely then they should go by their proper religions and then explain to others who may ask what exactly it means?

  5. Rhian permalink
    August 2, 2007 1:45 pm

    I don’t know, I just think it’s a lot easier to say ‘I’m a Pagan’ than ‘I’m a stoic pantheist’, which really does sound more wanky and self-indulgent, and really sounds like you’re saying it just so that people will ask you about it. Plus I don’t see why anyone should be scoffed at for what they choose to call themselves – I think that says more about the people doing the scoffing than the Pagan.

    And her whole blog isn’t about that, it’s about exploring her beliefs (and the odd book review). It’s just people had asked her, so she was seeing if she could answer their questions.

  6. Badger Madge permalink
    August 2, 2007 1:51 pm

    Not scoffing at them being Pagan, more scoffing because by calling themselves Pagan and not Druid or Wiccan it seems as if that person doesn’t actually know what they’re talking about.

    I can see what you mean about the specifics though. I suppose most Christians would call themselves Christians not, say, Methodist or Baptist. Or would they actually? Hmmm…

  7. Rhian permalink
    August 2, 2007 1:54 pm

    Yeah, most Christians I know would just identify themselves as that. I got what you meant, but I’ve actually found the opposite – people call themselves Wiccan very easily because they’ve heard it on Buffy, whereas saying Pagan implies (to me, and people I’ve known) they actually know something of the religious aspects and don’t just want to do spells.

  8. Badger Madge permalink
    August 2, 2007 2:06 pm

    lol there’s one book i remember from our shop that little girls would buy after watching a few eps of buffy. can’t remember what it was called but it was basically the craft in book form. made us piss ourselves whenever anyone bought it.

  9. Rad permalink
    August 20, 2007 2:30 pm

    On the subject of Jekyll. Hyde had descendants. Jekyll didn’t. Hope that clears things up?

  10. Badger Madge permalink
    August 20, 2007 2:38 pm

    Not really. I’m still a bit head fecked from it all… But thanks for trying!

Leave a Reply

