Skip to content

I’m holding out for a Hero

July 25, 2007

I know I’ve mentioned before how utterly superb Heroes is, but now it’s making its mark on normal telly, I thought I’d give it another mention and urge everyone to watch it (I soooo should be on commission, huh?).

I just can’t describe how great Heroes is. Yes, I know I might be over-killing it by bigging it up in such a way and I’m running the risk of creating an anti-climax but nothing can prepare you for its wondrousness. I have yet to meet one person who’s watched the series and not liked it (so if you don’t like it, it means you’re weird, okay?).

For the ladies there are (among many others) my faves: Peter Petrelli (who is confused as to his special powers at first) and the evil Sylar – helloooooo Sylar! There’s also Mohinder, the scientist; Nathan, Peter’s brother and politician wannabe, Matt Parkman, a chubby policeman who’s great at interrogation (!), Isaac Mendez, a tortured artist with a drug problem and DL Hawkins, a brooding criminal. For the guys, there’s Claire Bennet, a cheerleader and Nicky, a single mum with a very dark side.

But that’s just the highlights – The cast is huge and even more than those in the pic above, but (unlike with some quirky dramas *cough* Lost *cough* the writers managed to keep us glued to each and every character’s individual storyline. Heck, even Christopher Rubbish Doctor Ecclestone makes an appearance (although you don’t see much of him…).

I don’t want to say much more as I don’t want to spoil it: I’ll write more tomorrow about tonight’s episode.

But please. Just watch it, you’ll thank me for it…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    July 25, 2007 1:35 pm

    23 episodes. Are they having a laugh? I can’t stay with anything for any more than 8 episodes.
    Besides, I believe it was on something called the Sci-Fi channel, which should, by rights, make it one to avoid.

  2. Paul permalink
    July 25, 2007 2:25 pm

    Now, I’ve been told endlessly, by vast swathes of people that I should watch this show – even though I can’t stand anything with superheroes in it.

    At one point I was considering watching it – but now, like The Wire, I’ve reached the point where I’m tired of being told that if I’m a fan of GREAT tv then I MUST watch it. I really can’t be bothered to commit myself for 26 weeks.

    I’m more likely to watch it on DVD, at my own pace. If I want to watch three episodes on the trot, then I can.

    I may well be missing something amazing but there comes a point where things get over-sold. And this is SO one of them.

    Shame. Ah well, I’ll get round to it eventually.

  3. Badger Madge permalink
    July 25, 2007 2:32 pm

    I can see what you’re saying and I think Lost is also something in the same vein. But you really will be missing out if you don’t watch – by all means wait for the DVD. Just promise me that you will watch it one day…

    Rich: 2 words: sexy cheerleader…

  4. Paul permalink
    July 25, 2007 9:03 pm

    I promise I will watch it – but it will be on DVD for sure… 🙂

Leave a Reply

