Skip to content

Celebrity spot of the week 2

June 29, 2007

Another embarrassing star spot. This time Emma Watson at Didcot train station, waiting for the train to Oxford (where she’s from fact fans).

I saw her as I was on my way to buy some gum from the shop (mmm, the minty chewy goodness) and thought “Ooh, that’s Emily Watson off the Harry Potter films. Ooooh, I must go back and tell her how fab I think she is and best of luck with the film.” Oddly enough on two separate occasions that day I’d been telling two different sets of friends how stunning I think she is. And she is. Look. See? Beautiful. And everyone likes being told they’re beautiful, right?

If only I hadn’t got her name wrong. And if only she hadn’t been such a rude cow.

I was going back that way anyway, as she was right outside the shop that sold the gum. She caught my eye anyway as I walked up to her group of friends (they were all stereotypical Oxford, uber cool, new rave teens. Very very intimidatingly cool). I smiled and said, “Are you Emily?” – Now, I suppose in a literal sense, she’s not Emily. But she knew what I meant. This girl is approached several times a day (I know: my mum teaches her best mate the piano and she told my mum) by people asking if she’s that girl off Harry Potter, so she must get the occasional name arse-up, right? – She recoiled slightly, and after a long pause, “No…”
“God, you look so familiar…” I said. I was about to ask her if we’d gone to the same school because that’s what you usually do in Oxford when you see someone you recognise. The place is so damned small that you’re bound to have gone to school with most of the people of your age at one point (I say my age – I’m a good ten years older than her, but I might have known her sister or something).

At this, she seemed to believe that I was some sort of deranged fan (ha, don’t know where she got that from – can’t even remember the poor girl’s name) and turned her back on me saying, “No, no no,” in a very dismissive manner, which I think you’ll all agree is very rude.

So I was left, looking at the back of her head and staring at the rest of her super cool mates. “Oh.” I stuttered – although quite how you can stutter a single syllable I don’t know, but I managed. “Well… You look just like that Emily Watson.” I muttered to her golden curls before scuttling off down the end of the platform, feeling really, really embarrassed. “Who?” someone asked as I walked off. “Emily Watson. Tsk.”

At first I felt really angry that she’d blanked me. It wasn’t as if I had my camera phone out snapping her (As if! I still have my trusty Nokia 3330 – sans camera), it wasn’t as if I had all my DVDs for her to sign. I just wanted to tell her that she was beautiful and best of luck with the film. I wasn’t aggressive; I was very gentle and quiet and didn’t draw too much attention to her (except for her mates, but they were looking at her anyway… being that they’re her mates). The least she could have done was say, “Yes, I’m Emma Watson actually, but I know who you meant to say,” accept the compliment and then we’d both feel good for the rest of the day.

My mum told me she was a bit bullied at school because of the films when she was younger, so she’s quite sensitive about the whole fame thing and hates being recognised. But if that’s the case, she should either not travel by public transport (although kudos to her for doing so) or wear a disguise. It’s a sad fact that once you’re famous. These things come with the territory. If she wants to act and not have the fame thing, then she should stick to the stage. No one forced her into film.

You could argue that she didn’t know that when she signed up to the film at such a young age. But then a) someone should have made sure she realised and b) she didn’t have to sign up for the next lot after her contract ran out after the forth film. Non of them did. Any one of the three could leave and it would be OK. Even Daniel Radcliff isn’t ‘the Harry Potter films’. Sure the fans would have complained a bit, but we’d have got over it – look what happened when they had to change Dumbledore. Besides, both Radcliff and Watson aren’t strong actors, so their replacements might well have been better for all we know. But back to ‘Emily’.

I can understand if she’d fed up with getting recognised. But if she still wants to retain some sense of a normal life, then maybe she should adopt this approach:
“Are you Emma Watson?”
“No.”
“You look just like her.”
“Yes, I get that a lot! But she’s taller than me. I’m only 5’4”

There. By delivering two fake facts: a) that she gets that a lot and b) that she’s taller than her, Emma would have successfully thrown the scent off her star status and been polite too. In fact, Emma is very petit (I’d say between 5’2 and 5’4) and was wearing a brown leather jacket, skinny jeans and leopard print pumps. She looked every bit as beautiful in the flesh as she does on screen and her boyfriend certainly seemed to agree. She spent most of the time waiting for our delayed train hanging off a tall boy with dark brown hair and blue hoodie, with bother her hands tucked into his back pockets! What would Dumbledore say…?

Anyway. I still feel quite bad about the whole thing. She’s young, she hasn’t quite got the hang of this fame thing. But she didn’t have to be so rude and embarrass me in front of her friends. There’s no excuse for that.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2007 12:24 pm

    Never meet your heroes. Or even the people you quite like. In fact, it’s best just to stay at home with curtains tightly drawn, I find.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 29, 2007 7:15 pm

    I got a feeling that you unintentionally embarrassed Emma in front of her friends. It was rather insulting calling her Emily. Yes, she probably could have corrected you but from what you said she may not have thought you had it all together. I’ve heard other people who have said she was really nice. I think you must have put her off.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 1, 2007 11:27 am

    I sympathise. I’ve only seen one celebrity in my life – Hugh Grant in the street. I was on the phone to my friend (and was a little drunk) and completely blanked on who he was. So I stopped and stared at him really obviously, I said, in a unintentionally lveryoud voice, “Oh my God, it’s -” and then couldn’t think. He breezed past and went, “Yes. It is.” But in a nice way. I didn’t have a strong opinion of him either way before that, but I like him now, because he handled my giddiness very well, when he could have been really off about it.

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    July 2, 2007 8:27 am

    If I embarrassed her in front of her mates by what I said then she must be uber sensitive. REemember, this girl gets bugged by people daily (apparently especially when she goes into Boots, for some reason), so she must come accross worse people than me.

    I’ve played the scene over again and again, and I really don’t think I was rude or embarrassing. I was very calm and quiet so as not to draw attention to her and I was kind and smiley all the way through… Seriously though, if what I said to her offended her then she must be really highly strung!

  5. Anonymous permalink
    July 3, 2007 11:44 am

    You probably made a mistake

    Emma Watson does not a boyfriend and the person that you described does not sound like Emma watson at all

    You probably just met a girl that looked similar to Emma

  6. Anonymous permalink
    July 3, 2007 11:46 am

    I dont think she meant to be rude but sumtimes people like to fade into the background and not get reconised

    She prob feels that to get some normality back into her life, she would travel by public transport

    And also, she is a teenage girl who prob gets moody now and again over stupid things ( us girls tend to do that every mmonth for about a week ) so u prob caught her ona week where even the simplist thing would get her to be moody. My dad would tell ya I am like that

  7. Anonymous permalink
    July 3, 2007 12:03 pm

    YOUR STORY SOUNDS FAKE
    OR
    YOU TRULY MADE A MISTAKE

    According Emma latest interviews she DOES NOT have a boyfriend
    and
    is hard to her having one with all her hard schedule

    So either you LIE
    or
    you JUST MET SOMEONE THAT LOOKED LIKE HER

  8. Anonymous permalink
    July 3, 2007 12:05 pm

    Next time put some PROOF before posting stories like this

  9. Badger Madge permalink
    July 3, 2007 12:11 pm

    Ha ha! Well this is what you get when you leave an URL on the Digi Spy celeb forums, eh?

    FYI: It was Emma Watson. Definitely. How do these posters know she doesn’t have a boyfriend? What proof do *they* have.

    It was certainly Watson. I’ve lived in Oxford long enough to know her when I see her…

  10. Fizzwhizz permalink
    July 3, 2007 2:18 pm

    ZOMG U IZ RONG RONG RONG I R COMING TO SHANK U COZ U DISSSD HERMEOWN SHE IZ GUNA B MYWIFE 1DAY I SEND HRE PRZNTS OF MY HARE AND TOENAILS AND MANY LOLZZZ!!!!!11! SHE DONT SNED EM BAK SO SHE MUSST LUV ME RITE
    SO I KEEL U 4 TLKAIN 2HER BADGER IF THAT RLY IZ UR
    NAME
    WITCH I DONT FINK IT IZ U HAEV BIN WARNEDD!!!!!11ONE!!!! PS I RITE IN BIG CAPITALZ WIV RANDMO CARRIGE RETURNZ COZ THAT MEANZ I R SAYIN SUMFIN V V V V V V IMPORTENT!!!!1!!

  11. Badger Madge permalink
    July 3, 2007 2:22 pm

    🙂 I wish I could fake wank-speak as well as you Fizzwhizz!

  12. Fizzwhizz permalink
    July 3, 2007 2:24 pm

    LOLZ U SED WANK

  13. Badger Madge permalink
    July 3, 2007 2:24 pm

    OK, stop it now.

  14. Badger Madge permalink
    July 3, 2007 3:12 pm

    Omi gawd, I’ve just had a check on Statcounter, and somehow this blog has made its way over to some Emma Watson forums! Seems my spot of her boyf is one reference too many and they’re now trying to work out who the guy is.

    It certainly wasn’t Daniel Radcliffe as they’re wondering. He had very dark brown hair, was very tall and was wearing a sky blue hoodie and blue jeans. Didn’t see much of his face (I was down the other end of the platform) but he didn’t look ugly…!

  15. Anonymous permalink
    July 3, 2007 3:15 pm

    OMG how rude! In all her pics she always looks really smug. I’d’ve told her off for being such a cow!

  16. Anonymous permalink
    July 4, 2007 6:58 am

    I think the way she reacted was not that bad to tell you the truth. People including film stars are allowed off days where they are ruder and not as socialable as people say they should be

    I have had lesser known celebs ( I use the term loosly )be a hell of a lot ruder than emma watson, they seem to have a huge ego for a part on tv so small

  17. Anonymous permalink
    July 13, 2007 3:05 pm

    My brother was a Slytherin extra on the Prisoner of Azkaban movie. He told me that on Emma’s birthday one of the other extras went up to her to wish her a happy birthday, and Emma looked at her and said ‘I don’t even know you’ before turning away. She’s a cow.

  18. Badger Madge permalink
    July 13, 2007 3:09 pm

    *shocked* See? I told y’all! It’s one thing being rude to a stranger, but she’s bloody working with extras! That’s terrible. Kudos to your bro! V jealous!

  19. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2007 2:05 am

    wow..im shocked but maybe not surprised! i would get hurt as well if that happened. and btw, guys who say she doesnt have a bf [stop being in denial]! she confirmed it in a phone interview. she said yes and thats all. so please! let the girl have a bf!…….i feel sad for how she treated you! whats Boots btw? and i cant believe someone would be that rude to an extra on the same movie she’s on and a well-wisher!!!

  20. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2007 2:49 am

    its me again! i was the last comment..lol..i found the answer as to why she was rude [well sort of]…i still think it was rude towards you..so yeah! btw, was her friends amy & irial with her?

  21. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2007 2:50 am

    starts at 3:41 in the vid!

    =)

  22. Anonymous permalink
    July 15, 2007 7:40 pm

    I actually believe you, I do think she is a bit of a snob, this is not the first time I read someone saying Emma is ashamed of being famous and that she is rude sometimes. there are a lot of stories from fans that have said she acts completely different when she is doing an interview or something but behind the cameras she is a little bit rude.

  23. Badger Madge permalink
    July 16, 2007 9:30 am

    Fair enough. But I still think there’s no excuse for rudeness. She’s 17 FGS! She’s on her fifth film and as she said in an interview “knows what she’s doing now” so I’d’ve thought a bit of politeness – especially so close to the launch on the film.

    Bloody loved the film though, so might (just might) forgive her (even though she’s very weak in it).

  24. Anonymous permalink
    July 16, 2007 4:47 pm

    I agree there are no excuses to be rude with someone.
    But I´m not a big fan of Emma anyway, I prefer Rupert he is such an awesome and down to earth guy.

  25. Anonymous permalink
    July 17, 2007 9:17 pm

    You should really come over here ->

    http://www.emma-watson-fans.net/forum/index.php/topic,176.315.html

    I think the people there would like to ask you some questions and they boy with the hoodie might be Tom Ducker -> Emily’s oops Emma’s boyfriend ;]

  26. Anonymous permalink
    July 18, 2007 10:30 am

    Emma does have boyfriend by the name of Tom Ducker. Emma said so in an interview with her Girls Life Magazine. Anyway Emma was probally embarresd because you called her Emily instead of Emma in front of her friends.

  27. Badger Madge permalink
    July 18, 2007 10:36 am

    Yes, I’m mortified by that mistake. But I *still* don’t think there’s any excuse for rudeness. Honestly, she gets it all the time – whether she’s with friends or not. She’s not a kid anymore so she should learn that she can’t get away with this kind of brattish behaviour!

  28. Gil permalink
    July 8, 2012 8:56 am

    This was 5 years ago, and she’s still like that.

    Hasn’t grown up. A snob.

Leave a Reply

