Skip to content

What?!

June 23, 2007

Another Who (almost) finale, another anti-climax. Why RTD insists on writing them I’ll never understand. He needs to realise something that Lucas has needed to realise for years – a good director/producer does not a good writer make. It wasn’t that it was terrible. It had its moments. But it wasn’t nearly as good as the superb Human Nature/ The Family of Blood and the more or less perfect Blink.

I don’t mind John Simm’s Master. I think his kookiness fits well with Tennant’s Doctor. If the Master *is* mad, it’s like a lovely yin to his yang as it were. So no issues there. I can’t quite put my finger on what it was that I didn’t like about the episode, other than it just didn’t feel right. No suspense, mysteries that I didn’t really care about (OK, so people are drumming. Alot. I can live with that). It just didn’t have the same pervasive sense of forboding or paranoid mystery that Family… and Blink had.

I don’t care that Martha’s family have been kidnapped. Saxon and Izzie off Hollyoaks can keep them for all I care. And Jack. What the feck was Jack doing? I can accept Deus Ex Machina at the best of times, but fiddling with Jack’s watch was a bit desperate. It was as if RTD had wirrten himself into a corner (literally), trapped as they were a trillion years into the future and they suddenly needed to get back to present day earth for the Saxon bits. It was all just too hurried and easy for my liking.

And why do we have to end every series with a billion machines flying down to earth? Why can’t we just have a good old-fashioned menacing baddie? Someone should tell RTD that it’s quality that counts, not quantity.

Fave bit of the episode was the Lazer screwdriver vs the Sonic one (and apparently there was quite a bit of screwdriver envy going on behind the scenes, if the RT is anything to go by. Apparently, Tennant was quite upset that Simm’s screwdriver was er… bigger than his and left an (jokingly I’m sure) angry message on RTD’s mobile).

Oh, and on a slight side note, if anyone saw Would I Lie To You (BBC1, 10pm, Saturdays) tonight, then they’d know what I now know about John Barrowman. He’s thick as shit. He doesn’t understand comedy (explaining a joke that his fellow team mate just made was embarrassing), he doesn’t have any kind of social skills. He’s just an OK actor, with nice eyes… Gutted.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2007 1:05 am

    Gotta agree with you on almost everything there. I’d actually forgotten that they were in trouble right at the end of the last ep… it was glossed over so quickly. And yeah, more invading aliens descending on earth, zzzzz…. another family we couldn’t give a toss about, zzzz… and John Simm being a pantomime villain. Jeez. We’re not 12.

  2. Rhian permalink
    June 24, 2007 9:54 am

    The stupid thing is, RTD can write – he can write really really well! Queer as Folk is one of my favourite series, so it’s all the more disappointing that his Who stuff is just always meh.

    Didn’t hate it as much as you though – in general I liked the episode, there were some things I thought were brilliant, and there were some things that made me cringe. Hey ho.

  3. Paul permalink
    June 24, 2007 10:06 pm

    The scene on the phone between the Doctor and the Master was excellent.

    Unfortunately, apart from this, the words “horse” and “shit” immediately sprang to mind.

    SO disappointed I can’t even blog about it…

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    June 25, 2007 8:24 am

    Paul, yes that was the best scene, esp the “I love it when you use my name” How sexy? Or was that just me…?

    Rhi: Yes OK, agreed QAF was excellent (but I’m not sure about the writing. I think it was more the ground-breaking, pushing the boundaries thing that made it so compelling).

  5. DanProject76 permalink
    June 25, 2007 7:59 pm

    I didn’t hate it but like you said, Davies is no Cornell. But then who is?

    Bloody Barrowman doing his ‘predatory comedy gay’ schtick on telly makes me want to turn off. So I did. I am so much better a Gay Icon that that tired old cock-flasher with the strangely immobile face.

Leave a Reply

