Skip to content

Weekend round-up

June 4, 2007

Friday
Big Brother: At first I was a bit disappointed with BB’s choice of First Man. I had wanted a gay man to go in, them to all fawn over him for about ten minutes and then realise and go back to being sexually frustrated. Then, when a straight man did go in, they’d be practically orgasmic when he so much as looked at them. But no. We’ve got blonde haired, muscle-man, Ziggy: ex boy band, present middle class wanker. In a suit. What a ridiculous nickname. Apparently his real name is Zak Lichman, which is way cooler and rock star than er… Ziggy. OK, maybwe not more rock star, but you get what I mean.

Ziggy had a bit of difficulty opening the doors at first (even though BB helpfully wrote “push” on each one – but hey, what do you expect from an ex-boy bander?) but once he got inside, he was practically swapped by screaming, whooping, jaw-dropping girlies. Lucky bastard. I bet he thought all his Christmases had come at once. Until, that is, Carole got him engaged in a conversation about toilets. He looked like someone had just taken away all his toys and forced him to tidy his room, bless him.

He reminds me of a cross between Cliff Richard (but a young one, and only the voice), Jeremy Irons and Kurt off Hollyoaks. He seems polite and semi intelligent (well, intelligent for BB standards – the little blighter couldn’t get it through his thick head that no, there wasn’t any booze and yes, the house is full of women, as these seemed to be the only questions he kept asking). Not sure I can trust his motives as far as nominations go. The look on his face when Chanelle (or Channel as I’m calling her now) paraded in front of him in nowt but a (very short t-shirt) proves he’s not interested on what’s inside (as the vacant Emily insisted earlier).

Hopefully, he’ll go for the interesting housemates like Laura and Nicky. But we shall just have to wait and see. No doubt, he’ll be up for nomination soon enough.

So far, I’m liking the more serious Tracey. Felt sorry for her when she realised she was very much alone in the house – probably more so than Lesley and Carole, as I first thought. Laura and Nicky are still my faves and I must admit now that I was VERY WRONG about Shabnam (Shanon Doherty in a not-very-good disguise). Apologies. She is not the cool individual I thought she was. She’s the girl at school who comes up with wanky phrases and dresses like a blind leper to get noticed by the cool people. She’s so self-manufactured it’s painful.

Now, I’m off to give a knighthood to my neighbour. I like to think I’m queen of my road, see…

Saturday
Doctor Who: What a fabulous episode. Hate to get all geek-boy on you, but I hear it was written by the same guy what wrote the episode where Rose convinces the Doctor to go back to meet her father. That was another tear-jerker too, so fair play to the man for writing two excellent dramatic episodes. Great cast (wasn’t sure about ol’ Jessica Stevenson-who-is-now-called-Hynes-but-I’ll-always-call-her-Stevenson-because-Hynes-is-just-wrong at first but she did well and complimented Mr Tennant perfectly. Freema was superb too and made me giggle thru my tears (again) when professing her love to Mr Smith/The Doctor. I’m ashamed I booed her when her name first came up in the credits. Freema, I am sorry. You’re ace (maybe better than Billie – but don’t tell anyone I said that! That’ll just be our little secret). The scarecrows were uber scarey (this is the kind of nasty I like – yes, OK, they’re men in suits, but they’re genuinely menacing and not just men with Rhino heads on) and the baddies were proper badass. I’m semi-quoting the good old Radio Times here but I agree that the kid’s description of the Doctor was the best (and most heart-wrenching) I’ve heard yet – it was partly ruined by Mr Badger making rustling noises as he shipped things off for eBay. Not great for a proper tear-jerk but it was still very emotional.

Sunday: Loads to watch Sunday night so I recorded a lot of it – How We Built Britain, Have I Got A Bit More News For You. I settled on watching The Apprentice: Behind the Boardroom, and I’m so glad I did, or I’d not have discovered that Katie is younger than Kristina – no shit! Katie, with her sloan wear and mutton chops, looks at least 45. Maybe even a young 50. She looks like she could be my mum anyway (and my mum is very young looking for her 50ish years). But she’s actually 31. The same age as Mr Badger (I feel a bit dirty). She also earns £90K a year. At 31. How the feck did she manage that then, eh? I need to know… Another revelation is that Simon is the son of a millionaire, so what does he need an uber-well-paid job for then eh? Can’t he just go and work for Daddy like most toffs his age? No, watching that, I’m all for either Lohit or Kristina to win.

Making The Monkees (Ch4) was also very interesting. I’m a semi-fan in that I watched the (repeats of their) show as a kid and bopped around the Daydream Believer at uni (didn’t we all?). Butt what a sad story it was. Luckily no drug overdoses or suicides (don’t think I could have handled those) but it’s sad that Mike can’t bring himself to talk about those days. He was obviously a very frustrated boy back then (but is now a very rich man, yay!). It would have been nice to see what he looks like now, as it was great to see Mickey, Davy and Pete as they are now (they’ve barely changed). But maybe he objected to having a beanie hat perched on his head yet again.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Rodrigo permalink
    June 4, 2007 10:00 am

    Oi, achei teu blog pelo google tá bem interessante gostei desse post. Quando der dá uma passada pelo meu blog, é sobre camisetas personalizadas, mostra passo a passo como criar uma camiseta personalizada bem maneira. Até mais.

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    June 4, 2007 10:14 am

    Er… One for Babel Fish I think:
    “Oi, I found yours blog for google tá well interesting I liked this post. When to give gives passed for mine blog, is on personalized t-shirts, shows step by step as to create a well personalized t-shirt way. Until more.”

    I’m impressed that you read my blog so fast. You must have eyes of cheetah…

  3. Clair permalink
    June 4, 2007 10:36 am

    That poor boy. Still, he wanted a second chance at fame, didn’t he? I half-watched BB On the Couch, obviously an attempt to get something socially useful from the series, and felt sorry for Tracey, too.

    Mike Naismith from the Monkees made a mint from MTV, so I don’t think needs to talk about that hat any more!

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    June 4, 2007 10:41 am

    BB On the Couch was shite. Bring back the old Psychology show, I say. Much more in-depth psycho-sematics going on on that prog. This was just a re-hash of the last two days. Boring…

    I like to think he still wears his little hat, bless him. x

  5. Swineshead permalink
    June 4, 2007 12:56 pm

    I feel like I’ve watched some of the footage about 10 times… it’s hard on the eyes.

    And I’m also going deaf from the unremitting SHRIEKING.

  6. Swineshead permalink
    June 4, 2007 2:39 pm

    Oh – and Nesmith, somewhat disappointingly, looks like this:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Nesmith

  7. Rich permalink
    June 4, 2007 3:13 pm

    I watched BB on Thursday and Friday and thought it was complete monkey toss. I was bought up in a house with 2 elder sisters and a ‘I know best’ mother (Dad was either at work or asleep), so I’ve always enjoyed, and felt comfortable in the company of women, and much prefer their company than about 95% of men. But Christ on a bike, couldn’t they find better people than this? Most of them are about as shallow as the shallow end of a child’s paddling pool. A paddling pool that’s empty.
    That Amy Winehouse lookalike had to stop talking because she wanted to admire herself in the mirror; The Posh lookalike actually aspires to being a WAG (but a WAG with a career,mark you. The career being to write a magazine column), and Charley’s just a twat.
    I’m not watching any more, total bilge. I’ll watch Springwatch instead and see how many jokes I can make about Kate’s ‘tits coming out’.

  8. Rich permalink
    June 4, 2007 3:15 pm

    Oh, by the way, I’ve met Mickey Dolenz a number of times. If you want the lowdown on him, Clair’ll fill you in.

  9. Badger Madge permalink
    June 5, 2007 8:15 am

    Nesmith: Ewwww! Not nice. I think of the four of them Pete and Davey look the best. Never really fancied Mickey much. He has a face like one of those plastic gurning toys you used to get at joke shops.

    Yes I am disappointed in Shabaz/Shanon Doherty/Amy Winehouse. I thought she’d be cool but no. Liking Nicky more and more though. I think she and Laura are our only hopes this year…

Leave a Reply

