Skip to content

Weekend round-up

April 16, 2007

So much on over the weekend it’s another crap capsulated round-up I’m afraid.

So Friday night and to Derren Brown’s Trick Or Treat (10pm Ch4, Fridays). Usually, I’m the first to gush at how amazing Derren is and how I’m totally in lurve with him. But I had a really uneasy feeling when he woke some bloke up in the middle of the night and asked him to pick a card. Did anyone else notice (who could fail??) that when held upside down, the Trick card actually said Treat and vice versa? You’re getting slack, Derren…

I also think it’s highly unlikely that, having been woken up in the middle of the night, anyone would just carry on a conversation. Surely most of us would go, “Actually, Mr Brown, do you mind if I just freshen up? Would you guys like a cuppa tea?” Plus, how come his girlfriend (who was in on it to be fair) not wake up and be a bit upset that her room was full of telly people? I’ve never thought Derren uses actors before, but here I was wondering…

I loved loved loved the thing he did with the League of Gentlemen. That’s his forte and I think he should stick to that kind of thing, instead of doing huge showy things on people. I think he’s more subtle wonders are more impressive than ‘hypnotising’ someone and then taking him to Marrakech or wherever.

Peep Show was great. I’ve never actually sat down and watched a whole one. There. I’ve admitted it. I’ve seen the odd clip here and there and might have seen an episode aaages ago, but Friday night was my first proper episode that I actually actively watched. Marvellous stuff. My minor crush on Robert Webb aside (what is it with me and comics??) I can quite honestly and unbiasedly say that I could quite happily sit and watch Peep Show all day. It’s great stuff and much better than Mitchell and Webb’s sketch show.

So on to Saturday and the wonder that was Dr Who. The kitten photos are all over the net, but I just couldn’t resist uploading another for all the ladies out there. Ardal O’Hanlon was fab and I’m loving Freema as Martha. I was so worried she’d be awful, and although there are moments of slight over acting, I’m loving her little asides (my fave so far have been the “Planet Zovirax” and “Expelliarmus” gags). And it looks like the whole series is going to benefit for the better with her in it. When I heard she was going to have a crush on the Doctor, my first reaction was, “Jeez, not again?!” I can’t be doing with another love story, thanks very much. Let’s just have a great friendship and lots of adventures. Much as I loved Rose, her angsty love was a bit heavy.

Sunday night and Mr Badger and I settled down to a bit of Heroes. God I love Heroes. It’s by far my favourite show on TV right now. And that’s no mean feat. It’s usually very difficult for me to pin down a fave, but if I had to choose between an episode of Heroes or an episode of Lost, I think I’d pic Heroes. At least right now – the shit is really hitting the fan let’s just say that. What the Heroes guys have done that the Lost guys haven’t is juggle a huge cast and keep our interest in them. It’s the comic-book-style that lets them jump around characters so fast and this is obviously something that the Lost guys can’t do. So now we’ve seen up to episode 18 and we’ve now got a mini break until April 23rd. Gaddammit, the end of episode 18 had me literally throw my head back, yelling, “Nnnnnnoooooooo!!!!!!” What a cliff hanger. If you’re not watching Heroes, then do please cave into the hype and watch it now. Right now. Bugger off this blog and go and download it. I know what it’s like when everyone’s raving about a series or a book or whatever and you feel you shouldn’t watch it JUST because everyone else is. But with Heroes it’s different. I love Lost as much as the next person (and in my case, the next person is my workmate Chris, who lurves Lost) but I’m the first to admit that there have been some very weak episodes. But Heroes has been perfect so far.

So that’s my weekend rounded up. I’m sure I watched more telly than that though, me being me. There was the obligatory Eastenders garbage, Grease Is The Word (I must remember to keep my notebook with me when watching it as there are some classic quotes) and Joseph on the Beeb (ditto). Plus Shipwrecked (hah! The girls are all bloated now due to their pasta and rice diet. Did anyone notice Fiona’s HUGE pot belly when she was showing around the newbie? Jealous? Er… Yeah…)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    April 16, 2007 12:12 pm

    I noticed that the trick or treat cards read the same upside down too. I pointed it out to Mrs Rich and she says we’re going to have to record next week’s to pause and study it.

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    April 16, 2007 12:14 pm

    I suppose, to be fair, he has to have some control over what they choose, as he’s already booked the flights etc…

  3. Clair permalink
    April 17, 2007 9:30 am

    Can’t BELIEVE! you haven’t seen Peep Show properly before! I just think it’s unashamedly FUNNY, unlike a lot of comedy, bizarrely, and the characterisation is brilliantly drawn. It’s why M&W’s sketch show disappointed me, especially as their radio sketch series had me crying with laughter almost every week.

    Derren rocks. He’s hypnotised me and it was…really weird.

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    April 17, 2007 9:35 am

    I know. And I hang my head in shame.

    Apparently, in his book, Derren says that there’s no such thing as hypnosis, only that the subject is behaving as they think the hypnotists wants them to. The true power of suggestion! I’ve been hypnotised and I’d say there was something in that…

  5. Rich permalink
    April 17, 2007 10:42 am

    Why would any one possibly want to be hypnotised?

  6. Badger Madge permalink
    April 17, 2007 10:45 am

    Well I did it because I was shit scared of flying and it was free (my mate was training). Now I can fly and I don’t freak out as much so I guess it kinda worked… Wouldn’t do long-haul yet tho!

  7. Rich permalink
    April 17, 2007 12:19 pm

    Well in that case it’s obviously very useful, and well done you for getting that monkey off your back. But I would never put myself up for it merely for the entertainment of others.

    Oh, and my first ever flight was 13 hours long. Which was kind of like jumping in at the deep end.

  8. Clair permalink
    April 17, 2007 3:23 pm

    I’m with you on the suggestibility thing; but when he said ‘I’m going to touch you on your arm, tell me how many times’, I felt two, and the crowd gasped as it was NONE. Oooh!

  9. Badger Madge permalink
    April 17, 2007 3:33 pm

    I used to fly all the time as a kid but developed some kind of phobia about ten years ago. No, I don’t think I could go on stage either – I’d prolly giggle too much! But it was good to relax and do a bit of NLP of a lunch time.

Leave a Reply

