Skip to content

Let’s work until we bleed!

March 29, 2007

Yes yes! It’s back, the reality TV show it’s OK for Guardian readers to like. I actually thought at the beginning that Andy (not Adrian as Ruth ‘the badger’ Badger called him on last night’s after show er… show – but she’s a badger so we’ll forgive her) was a bit of a ruthless one by cleverly orchestrating various people to ‘throw their hat into the ring’ to be team leader. His expert manipulation of Adam (was it Adam? These wanker business types all look the same to me), getting him to first step in and then persuading him to take the bullet made me really think he had the whole thing figured out. I was sure that he’d sail through to the last eight or so (and maybe even win with that kind of slyness).

But as always Sir Alan ‘don’t underestimate me’ Sugar turned the tables and switched team leaders in a Columbo-esque “Oh, and just one more thing” tiwst of dramatic proportions. Had Andy stayed on his team, he might not have got fired as he admitted he took a different approach with the girls – non of this “let’s work until we bleed” (now there’s a lesson in how to motivate your staff).

Jadine was a nightmare (I’m not quite sure who I despise more, her or last year’s Syed) – her leadership style was more akin to a nagging wife (sorry to be sexist but it’s true) than a corporate person type thing and she seemed more concerned about selling a brand image than selling the product. Tre has to get our respect for his ultimate PR stunt – giving his team the same name as a company he works for. Kudos to Sir A for pulling him up on it, but even he has to admit, it was a stroke of genius.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. swineshead permalink
    March 29, 2007 9:18 am

    Jadine was ace!
    That idiot who pitched up in Chapel Market should’ve gone.

    Glad it’s back…

  2. Clair permalink
    March 29, 2007 1:31 pm

    I hate The Apprentice. I watched BBC Three’s My Man Boobs and Me last night and it was ace, specially the song about a bloke who wanted some boobs that he’d keep in his room.

  3. Rich permalink
    March 29, 2007 3:59 pm

    If I had boobs I’d never leave the house. But that’s because I’m sad.

    As for The Apprentice, they’re all pricks, but I still watch it. I stayed up for it (I get up at 4am), and wasn’t disappointed. It usually needs a few weeks to get going though.

    I can’t wait to read Brooker’s take on it, a ‘bad-tempered Mrs Tiggywinkle’ indeed!

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    March 29, 2007 4:02 pm

    I used to get up at 5am for work, Rich. I feel your pain.

  5. Clair permalink
    March 29, 2007 8:42 pm

    Blimey Rich, those were the very lyrics of the same song! I’ve been trying to find them on the net but failed – try, try again…

  6. Rich permalink
    March 31, 2007 10:57 am

    May I apologise to everyone concerned for planting the seed in their head of me never going out due to acquiring some boobs.

    I’m desperstely looking to see if this man boob thing’s getting repeated.

    Madge, please accept my apologies.

  7. Badger Madge permalink
    April 2, 2007 10:22 am

    Dude, if I woke up as a bloke I’d spend all day er… getting to know my new body.

    But I do think you’re getting a tad obsessed, so maybe cut down on those boob documentaries for a bit.

Leave a Reply

