Skip to content

What deadline?

March 27, 2007

The two biggest things in my life at the moment are (look away now, Mr Badger) my job, and TV. I seem to spend most of my life doing one of these at some point. So I’m uber excited about the new ‘celeb’ reality show, Deadline (ITV2 from 4th April), which features (according to the press release) “ten celebrities that will face the daunting challenge of producing a weekly glossy magazine under the editorship of Fleet Street legend Janet Street Porter.” Yes, a legend she is. Formidable, opinionated but more well-known for her foray into the jungle in IACGMOOH (although I’m sure non of her ‘staff’ will be reminding her of this). I’ve had some god-awful bosses in my time, but I’d rather drink my own puke than work with her.

I really hope they do the magazine properly and by all accounts it looks as if they will, with Street-Porter using the ‘technical’ jargon us journos use on a daily basis (‘copy’ instead of er… ‘words on the page’). I’d hate to see these celebs churning out something like a newsletter or something that isn’t worth the paper it’s written on. It would be good to see if these ‘celebs’ ever get to understand what we have to go through to get a magazine out (how hard we work and for not much reward). I’m very much looking forward to seeing how their Production Editor copes (rubbing my hands together with glee is the best way I can describe it) but it will also be good to see them grapple with the moral issues.

I think many journalists today are so focussed on the job in hand and so used to the industry as it is that they rarely stop to consider the morality behind their job. A lot have been serving the industry fore so long that they’re devoid of any sense of responsibility or empathy, so it will be good to see such newbies battling between their duty to their fellow celebs and their duty to their new jobs.

Luckily, my job doesn’t entail much moral grappling at all. I did have a friend who used to work for heat though and it was interesting discussing his ideas behind celebrity and their privacy. I knew him from school and he was always very gentle and approachable (and more than a bit of a geek if I may be honest). Meeting him in the Emap buildings one time when we were in our very early 20s, he had turned into this Londonite monster who was obsessed with Jodie Marsh. Poor fellow.

Anyway, because Bath is so shite when it comes to digitalus, I won’t be able to actually watch this series. I’ll do my damndest to get some kind sweet person to record if for me though, as I wouldn’t miss this slice of self-obsession for the world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Clair permalink
    March 28, 2007 2:45 pm

    I used to be deputy ed of OK and features editor of Hello, so I shall be watching this one verrry carefully. It’s a nice world when you’re there, but when you’re out of it – and you get your sanity back – it’s a huge relief…

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    March 28, 2007 2:51 pm

    Hate to get all cliquey but I’ve always said I’d *hate* to work on a weekly. God the stress… Plus I’ve heard that there are some really horrid creatures who work on them (you being an exception, of course Clair).

  3. Clair permalink
    March 28, 2007 8:49 pm

    Weeklies are an ‘effing nightmare, especially the celebby ones, as basically, you’re all after exactly the same stories, and you’re forever getting bollocked. Don’t get me started.

Leave a Reply

