Skip to content

TV run by fools? Surely not…

March 27, 2007

Everyone’s favourite guvnor, Philip Glenister has criticised the TV industry for being screwed up and run by fools. Among his many points, he says that we rely too much on cheap telly – reality TV and quickly-knocked-out soaps. “We used to mock Japanese game shows where they ate bugs. Now we’re doing the same, if not worse,” and he’s got a fair point. TV is a tad lazy these days with versions of the same thing being knocked out each season. Last year we had How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria? This year it’s Grease Is The Word…

But I have to take issue with what he says about soaps. While Enders is going through yet another down-spiral lately (can anyone remember when it last had an up-peak and stayed up for a bit?) putting out an almost-daily half-hour show is tricky, especially a show that’s aimed at the audience that Enders is. Hollyoaks gets away with it because teenagers are more accepting. Older viewiers and families are different.

I think ol’ Phil has let his alter-ego take over a tad. I’d love to see DCI Gene Hunt march into BBC TV Centre and demand better programmes, “You’ve got to get more creative, you slags,” he’d say. “I couldn’t give a tart’s furry cup if you’re over worked and under paid.”

>> Ooooh, that was fun. Maybe we should have a Talk-Like-Gene-Hunt day? Who’s with me?

Which brings me to…
My four favourite Gene quotes so far (because that’s all I could remember):

“If I was as worried as you, I’d never fart for fear of shitting myself.”

“You so much as belch out of line and I’ll have your scrotum on a barbed wire plate.”

“Freeze, you are surrounded by armed bastards.”

“Is my name ‘Coco’? Why are you trying to make me look like a clown?”

Anyone got any more?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Valentine Suicide permalink
    March 27, 2007 7:44 pm

    I’m with you. I love Mr Hunt. Sam Tyler’s starting to grate bigtime though..

  2. Clair permalink
    March 28, 2007 2:43 pm

    >> Ooooh, that was fun. Maybe we should have a Talk-Like-Gene-Hunt day? Who’s with me?

    Me, me, you basstards!

Leave a Reply

