Skip to content

Pepsi and surely

March 23, 2007

A rather happy accident has just happened. We’ve just had a nibbles run and I requested a DIET Coke or DIET Pepsi. Being a stupid boy who can’t shop, my colleague came back with a PEPSI. Yes, not a diet in sight. Silly boy.

I can’t remember the last time I had a Pepsi. The last time I had a full-fat Coke was when I was 15 and my dentist told me that if I drank Diet Coke instead it would be better for my teeth and I’d also lose a load of weight. So I supplemented Coke for Diet Coke and voila, a newly svelte me emerged (of course years later that svelte me ran and hid inside a curvier, cake-eating me – but that’s not the point). From then on, I’ve been a diet drink person. Yes, I know it’s just as bad because of the chemicals, but I’ve grown accustomed to the taste (especially that of Diet Pepsi – Diet Pepsi has to be the best taste in the world, and anyone who says I’m addicted is wrong).

Anyway. So this can of Pepsi is now sitting, open on my desk. It looks strangely retro with its Royal Blue colour – to be fair I’ve not seen a can of Pepsi in at least 12 years (maybe even longer – I’m not actually sure if I’ve ever actually tasted Pepsi) so it looks totally alien to me. But you know what? Pepsi is actually really nice. I hate Coke because it tastes too Cokey. To me, Diet Pepsi tastes exactly how Coke should taste and that is why it’s the best diet drink ever. OK? But Pepsi doesn’t have that horrid metallic, caffeine taste that Coke has. There’s something really comforting in it…

Now fear not, I’m not going to start drinking full-fat drink again. I know that way danger lies. Besides, Pepsi isn’t nearly as lovely and thirst-quenching as its Diet sister. But it’s been a nice lesson and it’s always good to sample the other side of things for once. I was quite affronted at first but at least I’ve been given a window into another world. It would be a blue can-shaped window, obviously…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Badger Madge permalink
    March 23, 2007 12:41 pm

    The silly boy made a silly comment… Silly.

Leave a Reply

