Skip to content

Old dogs…

March 21, 2007

Anyone who didn’t catch The Underdog Show (BBC2, Tuesdays 8pm) last night *must* watch it next week. A group of ‘famous people’ (they’re not qualified to be celebs – Theo ‘Dragon’s Den’ Paphitis is in it for gawd’s sake) learn to be dog handlers and each week must perform an assault course and tricks with their chosen dog. It’s like Crufts without the pomp, plus (for that extra aww factor) all the dogs are rescue dogs (and some of the celebs are too).

It’s fabulously crap telly – I’m not even a dog person and I love it. Classic quote from last night: “She’s a great sturdy dog,” – Is judge Anne talking about Julie Sawalha or her dog Cookie? And keep an eye on Huey from the Fun Lovin’ Criminals (yummy) and his dog Casper. With Huey cracking cheeky jokes about Blue Peter competitions and Casper running amock, they’re sure to make the seires must-see telly. Besides, Huey. Is. Cool. So if he can trot about while his dog goes through a tube thing, then that’s fine by me.

Underdog… did make me miss the first bit of Life On Mars (BBC1, Tuesdays 9pm) though. Which did peev me somewhat. I’ve only just caught up with series two after a mamouth Mars-fest (series one and a bit of two in three weeks. Now, that’s skill). I thought the beeb didn’t overlap its programmes. I thought THAT WAS THE POINT OF A MULTI CHANNEL ORGANISATION – that channels and programmes didn’t (essentially) compete with each other. So while I was waving goodbye to Theo and Claudia, Sam et all had been changed into Crompton characters and I was missing it, goddammit. Ever since I saw the trailers for it months ago, I’d been excited about this episode. Humph. Maybe some kind soul will stick it on YouTube for me…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    March 21, 2007 11:30 am

    Why is the BBC obsessed with dogs at the minute? Dog Borstal, Help! My Dog’s as Fat as Me! and ‘exhaustive’ coverage of Crufts (how very apt that Clare Balding was presenting a dog show). Mind you, a bit of Sawalha action might make me tune in to this. You sure it’s Julia and not Nadia?

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    March 21, 2007 11:34 am

    Yup it’s deffo Julia, she of Saffie fame. She’s lost a load of weight (prolly because her dog is very nippy) and is doing well.

Leave a Reply

