Skip to content

Weekend round-up

March 19, 2007

Right lots on over the weekend, so it’s just a quickie for now (where have I heard that before?)

Friday
All I’m going to say about Friday evening is don’t watch a charity programme when you’ve only got £10 to last you til pay day and when you’ve just had the week from hell. Muchos frustrated crying going on! We ran out of bog roll by 11.30pm.

Saturday
Ice Dancing: It was pretty obvious it was going to be Kyron (or however you spell his name) all along, but it was made even clearer when Holly asked Torvil and Dean how good it was to work with Kyron and not Clare just before the announcement was made. By hey, Clare was just thrilled to have done Bolero. Yeah. Sure.

Over on the Beeb another voting cock up was about to be made with Wogan being told the wrong winner of Making Your Mind Up. It all seemed very dodgy to me that they had two different people telling them two different things. I call for a recount! I’d have loved for that little French girl to have sung for us. It would have been hilarious that we clearly can’t find anyone with any talent (Brian Harvey?!) to represent our country and have to rope in a French lady. Brilliant. But she was robbed, quite clearly, but hey, at least we won’t have to stage the damned contest next year, eh?


Sunday
Part of last night’s bevy of juicy treats, Mansfield Park (to which Mr Badger said, “Don’t you mean Gosford Park?”) was the first in a season of Jane Austen adaptations. I’ve never read it nor seen it on screen (in fact I’ve never read any Austen at all, but I have seen Clueless, so I feel more than capable of this review…) It was OK I suppose. The usual unrequited love of someone close to you (kinda like Emma) and it was very difficult not to be distracted by Billie Piper’s huge… roots. Surely they didn’t have L’Oreal Garnier Nutrisse back then? But it had everything a period drama needs: heaving bosoms a plenty, stunning scenery and grand houses, class struggles and even an Eastender. All in all it was most enjoyable, but I wasn’t as moved by it as I was with Jane Eyre earlier on in the year (but then I have more of a history with that particular work).

The rest of the evening was spent shouting at the telly and watching the rest of the top 100 (or however many) stand up comedians on Channel 4. And this is where I’m sure I’ll lose a load of regular readers if this blog (yes, all two of you). I really don’t GET Peter Kay (number 2). I just don’t find him funny! He’s so end-of-the-pier and I don’t think he’s that clever with his wit either. Surely the likes of Eddie Izzard, Richard Prior and Harry Hill (numbers 3-5) have done more for comedy and have been more inventive… What has Kay done? Amarillo and Phoenix Nights (which I don’t find funny at all). Maybe I’m missing something. Glad Billy Connolly got number one. But my darling Richard Herring didn’t even make the top 100, while straight-man Stuart Lee went in at number 41. Unfortunately, I was still Mansfield Parking at the time, so didn’t catch the explanation as to why Mr Herring wasn’t included. I’m sure there’s been a terrible mistake and will be writing to Ch4 forthwith. Who’s with me?

Anyone?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    March 19, 2007 1:50 pm

    Madge, you come from Bath. There’s your answer to why you don’t find Peter Kay funny. Like certain wines, I’m afraid he doesn’t travel well.

    Personally, his two live stand up DVD’s are brilliant for people of my generation and geographical location. But I found series 2 of Phoenix Nights unfunny in the extreme. And Max and Paddy’s Road to Nowhere lost me after episode 1, it was so bad.

    Kay needs to expand on his stand-up. Childhood reminiscenses are eventually going to run out. He’s already started repeating himself on chat shows.

  2. Badger Madge permalink
    March 19, 2007 1:57 pm

    Yes I think you’re right, Rich. I was going to say that it’s a northern thing but feared upsetting certain people (I was actually born in Chester, so am in fact Northern).

    I’m glad it’s not just me who’s noticed that he’s not that great though – certainly not derserving of the number two spot anyway.

  3. swineshead permalink
    March 19, 2007 3:24 pm

    Hawkins was clearly robbed on the Eurovision thing! And that French bird’s tune was drab. Worse than drab. The whole thing was a sham.

  4. Badger Madge permalink
    March 19, 2007 3:28 pm

    I reckon it would have given us a good chance though. And I loved that Justin-Hawkins-from-The-Darkness was clearly taking this whole thing so seriously that he walked off in a diva strop. Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

