Skip to content

T-minus 33 hours…

May 17, 2006



Not long to go now until BB7 hits the screens for yet another summer of reluctant addiction. I’ve not bothered protesting that I’m not going to watch it this year – there’s no point. As usual, I’ll start off determined not to watch then “well, I’ve got to watch the launch show, haven’t I? Got to see what freaks are in this year. Then that’s it.”

And from there it’s a downward spiral of shame and debauchery for me worthy of the infamous Jade Poker Night. Yes, BB-watching leaves me feeling dirty and used, but (like all of us these days, I’m assuming) I just can’t help myself.

Each year the makers claim that it’s different this time, but that’s what I think is wrong with BB these days. Does anyone remember the days of BB when housemates sat aroumd smoking what semeed like “dodgy rollies” and were even allowed books and magazines? No splitting of the house, see-thru walls, or strange outside kitchen (see BB7) for them. My favourite moment of BB is still from BB1 when the housemates danced around to the theme tune, unaware of what it was. It was the true essence of what BB was: their shocked faces when they came out to a huge crowd cheering (and whatever happened to BB crowds cheering housemates?) said it all – nowadays, housemates have PR gurus before they even enter the house, and have their Hello/OK spread worked out for when they leave… It’s no longer a social experiment (one of my many excuses to keep watching each year) but one looooong audition to Z-list celeb and then eventual obscurity.

This year, the makers claim that “a member of the public” will win entry into the house by finding a golden ticket inside a Kit Kat… Now, forgive me if I’m wrong, but surely all housemates are members of the public?! Or is their status as Celebs more or less secured before they even step out of their limos on launch night? Shame…

I’ll still be watching it though, dammit…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. superficialprincess permalink
    May 17, 2006 1:04 pm

    Oh Madge, sadly you’ve hit the nail on the head. The show really has become a shameless and disgusting audition for the limelight-seeking, seamlessly pride-lacking wannabes. I agree with you and the critics when they say that Big Brother’s lost its real essence, and yet we still obsess over it? Are we, the viewers, guilty of stooping just as low because of our hunger for reality-gratification? Maybe it’s best not to dig too deep or analyse it too much. Big Brother is kind of like smoking; you know it’s wrong and that it’s slowly destroying you, but you still want to do it anyway.

    Superficial Princess
    http://superficialprincess.blogspot.com/

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 17, 2006 1:55 pm

    What next this year? More fighting? More booze? More gender disorientation? Even bigger breasts? Full blown onscreen hardcore action?

    Probably.

  3. Ben permalink
    May 17, 2006 2:13 pm

    This is fab, now i can keep up with what’s going on on British tv! German tv is terrible… :o(
    Jude usually protests that she’s not going to watch BB too, but i know that within 3 weeks she’ll be glued to the screen!! I’m relying on you to keep me up to date!

  4. Ben permalink
    May 17, 2006 2:15 pm

    Hooray, now i can keep up to date with what’s going on back home on TV! You are now my officially most trusted television critic!!

Leave a Reply

